Skip to main content

Sociology Events – Current

Fall 2016


Thursday, September 8, 2016
Mary Brinton (Sociology, Harvard University)
4:30-6:00 PM, Uris Hall 340
Sponsored by CSES

Friday, September 9, 2016
Peter Rich (Policy Analysis and Management, Cornell)
Choosing Segregation: The Importance of School Racial Composition in White Parental Neighborhood Selection
12:00PM-1:30PM, Uris Hall G08
Co-Sponsored by CSI, CPC

Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Duncan Watts (AD White Professor-at-Large; Director, Microsoft Research Lab)
Time and place TBA

Friday, September 16, 2016
Practice Job Talks I
Time and place TBA

Thursday, September 22, 2016
Kathryn Edin (Sociology, Johns Hopkins) & H. Luke Shaefer (Social Work & Public Policy, University of Michigan)
$2.00 a Day: Living on Almost Nothing in America
1:25PM-2:40PM, Uris Hall G01 (Auditorium)
Sponsored by CSI. Meets as part of Controversies About Inequality.

Friday, September 23, 2016
Practice Job Talks II
Time and place TBA

Friday, September 30, 2016
S. Michael Gaddis (Sociology, Penn State University)
What’s in a Name? Examining Racial Discrimination in the 21st Century
3:30-5:00 PM, Uris Hall 302
Sponsored by CSI and CPC

Friday, October 7, 2016
G. Cristina Mora (Sociology, University of California – Berkeley)
Making Hispanics: How Activists, Bureaucrats, and Media Constructed a New American
3:30PM-5:00PM, Uris Hall 302
Co-Sponsored by CSI

Friday, October 14, 2016
Christopher Bail (Sociology, Duke University)
Cultural Networks and Bridges: How Advocacy Organizations Stimulate Public Conversation on Social Media
3:30-5:00 PM, Uris Hall 302

Thursday, October 20, 2016
R. L’Heureux Lewis-McCoy (Sociology, City College of New York – CUNY)
Inequality in the Promised Land: Race, Resources, and Suburban Schooling
1:25PM-2:40PM, Uris Hall G01 (Auditorium)
Sponsored by CSI. Meets as part of Controversies About Inequality. This is a public event.

Friday, October 21, 2016
Sanju Mojola (Sociology, University of Colorado – Boulder)
Race, Health and Inequality: Producing an HIV Epidemic in the Shadow of the Capitol
12:00-1:15 PM, 142 MVR
Sponsored by CSI and CPC

Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Aliya Saperstein (Sociology, Stanford University)
Racial Mobility: The Dynamics of Race and Inequality in the U.S.
4:30PM-6:00PM, Uris Hall 302
Co-Sponsored by CSI

Friday, October 28, 2016
CSES Symposium on Behavioral Experiments in Natural Settings
Time and location TBD, check CSES website

Friday, November 4, 2016
Liesbet Heyse (Sociology, University of Groningen/the ICS, The Netherlands)
International Nonprofit Organizations in Times of Change: Contributors to the Greater Good?
3:00-4:30 PM, Uris 302

Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Matthew Desmond (Sociology, Harvard)
Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City
Time and Location TBD
Co-Sponsored by CSI, the University Lectures Committee, and the ISS.
Free and open to the Public.

Thursday, November 17, 2016
Matthew Desmond (Sociology, Harvard)
Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City
1:25PM-2:40PM, Uris Hall G01 (Auditorium)
Meets as part of Controversies About Inequality. This is not a public event.

Monday, November 21, 2016
Delia Baldassarri (Sociology, NYU)
4:30-6:00 PM, Uris Hall 340
Sponsored by CSES

Friday, October 28, 2016
CSES Symposium on the Social Organization of the Mafia
Time and location TBD, check CSES website


Spring 2017


Monday, January 23, 2017
Prison as Prologue: Intergenerational Parental Incarceration Effects in the Disunited States of America
John Hagan (Sociology & Law, Northwestern)
12:00pm-1:30pm, Uris Hall G08
Co-sponsored with the Scholars Strategy Network and CSI

Friday, February 10, 2017
Deregulated Disparities: The Political Economy of Racial Health Disparities
Abigail A. Sewell (Sociology, Emory University)
3:00pm-4:30pm, Uris Hall G08
Co-Sponsored with the Cornell Population Center.

Friday, March 10, 2017
The Propagation of Disorder in Later Life: Neighborhood, Home, and Body

Markus Schafer (Sociology, University of Toronto)
12:00pm-1:15pm, G87 MVR
Co-Sponsored with the Cornell Population Center.

Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Can Organizational Theory Explain Income Inequality?
*Read an Excerpt*
Gerald F. Davis (Sociology and Business Management, University of Michigan)
12:00pm-1:30pm, Uris Hall G08
Co-Sponsored with ILR.

Friday, April 14, 2017
April Sutton (CPC Frank H.T. Rhodes Postdoctoral Fellow, Cornell University)
12:00-1:15 PM, 142 MVR
Sponsored by CPC

Social Mobility in an Unequal World: Evidence and Policy Solutions
Thursday, April 20, 2017 – Saturday, April 22, 2017
Keynote: G10 Biotechnology Building
Conference: Yale Princeton Room, Statler Hotel
Cornell University, Ithaca, NY